Skip to content

For your visual pleasure

31 July 2013

I added some photos to the posts I wrote while I was in India. Now you’ll have to read them all over again, ha ha. In this post are a few random shots that I don’t think will fit anywhere.

Image

First, special thanks to our host teacher, Rathindra. It’s not easy to drag two Americans to school and around Assam for 11 days, and as Rathindra noted at the airport when we said good-bye, “This is my first time doing this.” I told him it was our first time too; we will never forget this experience and always treasure our new friendship. This photo shows Rathindra with his 3-year-old daughter, Ayoshi.

Image

Deepali, looking here like the uncrowned queen of Ahom at one of the old palaces, was our main cultural guide. She grew up in Assam, worked at the school we visited for about 20 years in between transfers to other federal schools, and seemed to know everybody in town. Again, we are eternally grateful for her guidance and friendship.

ImageImage In an earlier post, I provided a link to a BBC News report, “10 things you might not know about India,” one of which was the variety of services available from road-side vendors, including ear cleaning. I did not see any such vendors, but during a particularly slow traffic jam in Agra, I did take these photos of a road-side barber (cue music, “Shave and haircut … two bits!”) and a press wallah, using an iron filled with coal (I had seen press wallahs in Bangalore as well).

Image

I can’t say that I noticed ladies’ room signs, but this one at the hotel in Delhi caught my attention. If this weren’t a Department of State sponsored project, I could write you quite an informative essay on the theory and practice of Indian bathrooms.

ImageImageImage

We saw wild elephants and rhinos (instant quiz question: Students, what’s the plural of rhinoceros?) at Kaziranga National Forest. Elephants are very smart: they were pulling the grass up from the swamp, washing the dirt off by swishing the grass back and forth in the water, and then drying the grass by twirling them in the air, all with their trunks. We were told that when it’s not rainy season and there are no swamps, the elephants beat the grass against their knees to get the dirt off.

ImageImage

This blog is not immune to the cliche tourist images. The Taj-under-my-finger image was taken by a man who was very helpful upon seeing I had detached myself from my tour group and who unabashedly asked for 200 rupees (about US$4) after having me pose for several photos, of which the only useful one is reproduced above. The Agra experience.

From → India travel log

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

